WPC's 2018 Champion of Freedom Award

Each year, Washington Policy Center (WPC) presents our Champion of Freedom award to an honoree in our state that exemplifies what the Columbia River embodies; a mighty river that spans Eastern and Western Washington, symbolizing both natural resources and resourcefulness of the human spirit.  The award is presented to recognize an individual or organization that WPC’s Board of Directors finds to best embody that symbol of the Columbia River as well as these qualities:

  • A belief in ideas and that ideas result in action and in economic and personal freedom. 
  • A belief in the free market and that the role of government should be limited so individuals can flourish in a free society. 
  • And an understanding of the important things in life that lead to success not just for one person but for others.  

Representative Dan Kristiansen will be honored with our annual Champion of Freedom award for his outstanding work in championing small businesses and free-market values over the last decade. WPC’s board selected Rep. Kristiansen for this award in recognition of his leadership in the legislature, particularly as the Minority Leader.

Senator Michael Baumgartner  will be honored with our annual Champion of Freedom award for his outstanding commitment to free-market principles, worker rights and limited government, particularly in advancing labor reform in our state. WPC’s board chose Sen. Baumgartner for this award in recognition of his unwavering principled stand on numerous key during his many years in the State Senate.


The Lincoln County Commissioners, 2017
The Ackerley Family, 2017
WPC’s Past Leadership to celebrate the organization’s 20th Anniversary, 2016
General James Mattis, 2016
Rainier Scholars, 2015
Hon. Doc Hastings, 2015
Dr. Shelley Redinger, 2014 
Dr. Ben Carson, Sr., 2013
Legislative Champions of Charter Schools, 2012
Matt McIlwain, 2011
Hon. Brian Sonntag, 2010
Bill Conner, 2009
Phil Smart, Sr., 2008
Bruce McCaw, 2007
Charles M. Pigott, 2006
Hon. Jennifer Dunn-Thomson, 2005
Susan Hutchison, 2004
Ed Fritzky, 2003
Hon. Dave Reichert, 2002
Hon. Tim Sheldon, 2001
Hon. Jack Metcalf, 2000
Luke Williams, 1999